Jack's Weekly Release Radar (Friday May 31st, 2019)

Jack's Weekly Release Radar (Friday May 31st, 2019)


Here are some of my top picks that will be available this week!



There hasn't been a grittier, more uncompromising or more relentless blues rock band in the last twenty-odd years than Left Lane Cruiser. The swamp rock duo from Fort Wayne, Indiana consists of Frederick "Joe" Evans IV on slide guitar and vocals and Pete Dio on drums and backing vocals. There's an authenticity and a rawness to their sound that even the most expensive studio with the best equipment wouldn't be able to recreate. Shake and Bake is the group's tenth album, and has the potential to be one of their best!



American Bay Area thrash-metallers Death Angel are back with their ninth studio album, Humanicide, and it promises to be an all-out assault on the senses. Armed with razor sharp riffs and pounding drums, the record has a sound that's clearly stuck in the 1980's (not a bad thing!) yet a production that is very clean, the music jumps out of the speakers and rattles your bones. Lyrically, everything you would expect from a thrash metal band is here: death, war, politics, and other not-so-good topics. In a world of change, you can rely on Death Angel for an enjoyable thrill ride through all things metal.



Two years after the award-winning Lay It On Down in 2017, blues guitarist Kenny Wayne Shepherd and co are back with a stunning new record, The Traveler. Much like it's predecessor, it's a very well produced affair, with the band stretching their wings a little more (horns are used to great effect on certain tracks) and Kenny himself has some incendiary guitar solos. Fans of Joe Bonamassa and Walter Trout will no doubt find something to enjoy here!

See the complete list of Friday's releases below! All of these will be available digitally via Spotify and Apple Music, unless mentioned otherwise.

American Glutton – Fruit With Rot

Apex Manor – Heartbreak City

Arlo Day – Bad Timing EP

Arthur King – Wauters Farm

Athlete Whippet – Corporate Guy EP

ATLAS – All I Ever Wanted Was

Baker’s Dozen – Cake and Chaos

Buck Owens and the Buckaroos – The Complete Capitol Singles: 1971–1975

Christina Holmes – The Beautiful Struggle

Col3trane – Heroine EP

Concrete Fueral – Ultimum Judicium

C R O W N – Epicene

Damon Locks’ Black Monument Ensemble – Where Future Unfolds (Digital Release)

Daniel Wohl – État

Darkthrone – Old Star

Death Angel – Humanicide

Denzel Curry – ZUU

Depeche Mode – Black Celebration | The 12” Singles

Depeche Mode – Music For the Masses | The 12” Singles

Doves – The Last Broadcast (Vinyl Reissue)

Doves – Lost Souls (Vinyl Reissue)

Doves – Some Cities (Vinyl Reissue)

Duff McKagan (of Guns N’ Roses) – Tenderness

Emerson, Lake & Palmer – The Anthology (1970-1998)

Emma Sand – Door to Door EP

Famous – England

Fire Follows – If It’s War You Want

Firefly Burning – Breathe Shallow

FKi – Good Gas, Vol. 3

Frank Iero and the Future Violents – Barriers

FULCI – Tropical Sun

Gaahls WYRD – GastiR – Ghosts Invited

Gary Daly (of China Crisis) – Gone From Here

Gemma – Feeling’s Not A Tempo

The Gotobeds – Debt Begins at 30

H.C. Slim – Sings

Her Crooked Heart – To Love To Leave To Live

Hootie & The Blowfish – Cracked Rear View: 25th Anniversary Edition

Ian Noe – Between the Country

Jared Pauley – On Capitol Street

Jenn Grant – Love, Inevitable

Jessy Wilson – Phase

JNYHZD (Super Furry Animals/Stereolab’s Sean O’Hagan) – Calling

John Lawrence – Narcissus Paradox

Keller Williams – Add

Kenny Wayne Shepherd – The Traveler

Khaki Blazer – Optikk

Kim Thompsett – Woebetide Hill

Kishi Bashi – Omiyari

Lauren Crosby – I Said Take Me to the Water

Lee “Scratch” Perry – Rainford

Leathürbitch – Into the Night

Left Lane Cruiser – Shake and Bake

LFT003 (Mall Grab & Nite Fleit) – Moogie EP

Lisa Hannigan & s t a r g a z e – Live in Dublin

Luisa Lopez – 45

Lungbutter – Honey

Majesty of Revival – Timeless

Man With A Mission – Remember Me EP

Maren Morris – Maren Morris: Reimagined EP

Max Jury – Modern World

Mike Frazier – Where The Valley Kissed The Sky

Morcheeba – Blaze Away (Deluxe Edition)


Nightjacket – Beauty in the Dark

Pale Misery – Black Candles and Gutter Scum

Pat Todd & the Rankoutsiders – The Past Came Callin’

Pinhdar – Pinhdar

Pip Bloom – Daddy Issues

Psychedelic Porn Crumpets – And Now For The Whatchamacallit

Rafa Treseiscinco – Destinations EP

Raveena – Lucid

red steppes – Arcs

Remo Drive – Natural, Everyday Degradation

*repeat repeat – Glazed

Resina – Traces – Remixes EP

Reternity – Facing the DemonRobert Randolph and the Sa

Family Band – Brighter Days

Rory Gallagher – Blues

Rose Hotel – I Will Only Come When It’s A Yes

Sacred Paws – Run Around the Sun

Skepta – Ignorance Is Bliss

The Spice Girls – The Spice Girls – The Greatest Hits (Vinyl Reissue)

Stanton Warriors – Rise

Stevie Redstone – Shot in the Dark

The Stolen – The Stolen

Surprises – Natural Disaster

Svet Kant – The Visage Unbiased

Tate Tucker – Shangri-La EP

Thomas Rhett – Center Point Road

TOXPACK – Kämpfer

Tree – The Wild End

TV Coma – Body Negativity EP

Urochromes – Trope House

Various Artists – Heathers the Musical: Original West End Cast Recording 

VEUVE – Fathom

Wade Bowen – Solid Ground (Vinyl Release)

That's it for this week! Be sure to check back next week for your lineup of new releases!